Saturday, August 27, 2011

Don't Eat at La Thai

     Oh goodness, why do I let my mom pick restaurants?   She always picks a place I hate.  We went to La Thai on Prytania.  I scoured the restaurant website and I thought a salad would be safe enough.  We went for lunch and there was no wait.  The place is beautiful, really modern and sexy.  However, the food is the worst.  I ordered the beef salad, dressing on the side.  I took one bite and noticed a hair in my food.  GROSS.  I should have walked out, but my mom really likes the place and wanted to stay.

     They brought me another plate and it was mediocre at best.  I think the beef was coated in something because I have been sick since lunch.  I took a few bites, but for $16 I expect something edible.  The worst thing was that no one apologized for the hair.  They should have apologized or taken $5 bucks off the bill or something.  I didn't want to make a scene because my mama likes the place but never again.  I honestly hate going out to eat with her because I am always disappointed.

     We then went and saw Columbiana.  Zoe Saldana kicks major ass.  I didn't have high expectations going in and I don't want to spoil it but it was awesome. 

    I am in the middle of a plateau right now.  I am hoping that by changing up the things I eat every day I'll see some movement on the scale.  I'll keep you posted.  One positive change I have noticed is that my migraines have disappeared.  Usually, when I'm stressed or don't get enough sleep I get terrible migraines.  I had a hell of a week, but they didn't show up.  This is almost as good as weight loss.




Friday, August 26, 2011

Updates from Blogland

So it's been 12 days and honestly I have never felt better.  The only downside to my newfound primal diet is that I'm spending way to much time on Mark's Daily Apple and other primal/paleo blogs.  This community of people who are taking care of their own health is so inspiring.

Now for the stats...I have lost 9 pounds in 12 days.  My weight loss has stalled the past 3 days, but I know that's because I haven't been sleeping and my stress levels have been off the charts.  Work has been bananas and I have stayed up way to late.  I hope that I can catch up on sleep this weekend and get my hormones back on track.  My diet has stayed exactly the same (except for 2 bites of a Twizzler-yuck!), so I'm sure it's sleep/stress.

I have been reading the coolest blog lately.  The author writes about how snack/junk/processed foods are designed to make us fat (and never fill us up).

http://www.gnolls.org/2074/why-snack-food-is-addictive-the-grand-unified-theory-of-snack-appeal/


It's interesting, I never considered myself a big eater-but I binged like crazy on junk food.  It's like I could never have enough and never felt full.  I now know that's by design.  My diet isn't perfect. I still drink Crystal Light and my meal planning is imperfect but I really want to get to the place where my diet is:
-Mostly protein (Grass Fed/Wild)
-Organic/CSA grown (low GI/low carb) Fruits & Vegs
-Water (and homemade tea/lemonade-no Crystal Light/No Sweeteners)
-No Dairy
-No processed Foods (Nothing with a label-and NO GRAINS!)

Right now I'd say I'm on the path, but I'm not there:
-Protein: I do eat alot of it, but I buy it from Sam's Club and it's not grass fed.  For budget reasons this isn't going to change anytime soon.
-Organic Fruits & Veg: This is a matter of laziness.  We do have a CSA in Nola.  I just have to get off my arse and go.  However, Whole Foods is totally out of the budget
-Water: This is going to come last.  For now, cutting out soda & juice is enough
-Dairy:  I do eat cheese.  I will work on reducing this.  I only drank milk with cereal or with sweets, so that's not hard to cut out
-No Processed Foods:  Oh baby this is hard! Actually cutting out grains (bread, rice, starchy carbs) was easy because I recognize them.  It's the little things like the sugar/carbs hiding in spices or ketsup  that trip me up every time. 

As you can see I'm a work in process-but I'm getting there.  I'll post pics when I hit my first milestone goal.







Saturday, August 20, 2011

I woke up this morning

and I honest to God, I felt transformed.  I was laying in the bed and I could felt my stomach.  It's only been about a week and my stomach is smaller.  I got up and tried on my 'skinny' jeans. They are not really skinny jeans-but they are a pair of jeans I bought about 6 years ago.  I have only been able to wear them a handful of times because I got them when my weight was much lower.  Since I wanted to see if this stomach shrinking was real or an illusion, I tried them on.  Hot Damn! They almost fit.  I could get them on without stretching or straining.  In a few weeks, they will fit me like a glove.  I swear I'm going to wear those bad boys every single day.

My diet is going well.  When I weighed in last Sunday (August 14th) I was at 231.8, today I'm at 223.8.  My mood has been decent (although I almost started crying at work yesterday when I couldn't print the ELA homework-I just wanted to print it and get the hell out of there).  I've been pretty snippy and had a few headaches, but that could also be the result of the weather changing and work being insane right now.

My meal planning is far from perfect-I am not drinking enough water and lunch has been a bag of 200 Cal. Nuts every single day.   The fridge at work is gross and I only have 20 minutes to eat.  I may try canned tuna/salmon/or sardines.  We shall see.  Today,  I am making chicken fajitas with No Beans and No Tortillas.  I will use the seasoning mix, I hope it does not trip me up.  Wish me luck!





Sunday, August 14, 2011

In hiding for the last month

So it's August 14th and I haven't posted in over a month.  It's because I fell of the wagon.  I started a new job and got consumed.  My diet was the very last thing on my mind-evidenced by the amount of crap that I've eaten over the past few weeks. 

I have always struggled with a wicked sweet tooth and I am slightly obsessed with dessert. However, an interesting development has taken place over the past few days and I'm hopeful that it will  totally change my relationship with food.

Oddly enough, I have developed IBS.  I don't know why but whenever I eat something sweet I develop stomach cramps, diarreah, and the urge to vomit.  I have no idea why this has happened.  I honestly thought I ate a bad brownie.  So, I stayed away from the brownies.  Last night, I ate a piece of cheesecake and it happened again.  It's not happening with savory foods so I'm convinced that I'm developing some sort of intolerance for sugar.  I'm sad-but I also think of this as a blessing.  I can't control by diet through willpower alone.  This is my body saying Enough of the Crap.

I should be writing lesson plans right now, but instead I have been on Mark's Daily Apple and a slew of low-carb blogs.

I am still eating fruit because I think it tastes good and it's good for you.  I am going to try to cut down on dairy.  I am totally eliminating soda and sweets from my diet.  I am also going to try to eliminate grains and processed foods.   I weighed in this morning  and was at 231.8.  I want to be at 220 (ideally 215) by the end of the month.  I will keep you posted.  Wish me luck!






Saturday, June 4, 2011

I fell off the wagon

but I'm getting back on.  I haven't posted because this is a blog about my diet and frankly the diet flew out the window.  When I was eating paleo, I had a ton of energy and felt great.  Eating my SAD (Standard American Diet) I felt awful.  I'm been sleepy, lethargic, grumpy, and have had a ton of migraines.  Tomm. I'll be back on my paleo plan for good this time.

It's weird all of the things I craved were kind of a let-down.  I ate pancakes for breakfast and they tasted like cardboard.  I ate lots of cake-but it was usually dry and not satisfying.  I want food that provides fuel for my body and makes me feel good.  I can't wait to get back on track.

Monday, May 16, 2011

The day I did everything wrong

Today started off bad when I weighed in at 222.6  No more black beans for me!  I skipped breakfast and didn't bring my lunch because I was craving sushi.  They make sushi at my local grocery store.  I asked for it wrapped in Nori instead of rice.  They said they couldn't do it.  I said "I don't mind paying extra'.  No dice and the salad bar didn't have one thing that fit my plan.

I checked the frozen food aisle, but they didn't have any S. Beach Frozen Meals. I only get 25 minutes for lunch so I headed back to school with bupkus.  At about 3:00 the hunger got to me and I ate a banana (leftover snack for the kiddos).  Didn't fill me up at all.  At 4:45 I passed out pm snack, it was trail mix with peanuts, raisins, and white choc. chips.  I ate a bag. I couldn't help it.

I did learn my lesson----BRING MY LUNCH NEXT TIME!  I am dreading weighing in tomm.

Evening Update-In hindsight, it's not the end of the world.  I passed on the pizza and other temptations at the store.  For dinner I had 3 pieces of center cut bacon and an omelet.  I made some tuna salad and will do better tommorrow.

Sunday, May 15, 2011

It's a new day for me

and I'm feeling good.  Jennifer Hudson is not the only one singing that song.  After a tough day yesterday, I feel like I'm back in the game.  Today I made a delicious salad of chicken fajitas and guacamole.  I added a little bit of black beans.  A little while ago (on Mark's Daily Apple), I learned that beans are a carb.  For years, I thought they were proteins.  I thought that was why vegetarians ate them.  So, hopefully tomm. the scale will be moving in the right direction.  No matter what, I feel full of energy.  Since starting this diet my energy has skyrocketed, my sleep has improved, and my attitude is better. I feel made of win.