So it's been 12 days and honestly I have never felt better. The only downside to my newfound primal diet is that I'm spending way to much time on Mark's Daily Apple and other primal/paleo blogs. This community of people who are taking care of their own health is so inspiring.
Now for the stats...I have lost 9 pounds in 12 days. My weight loss has stalled the past 3 days, but I know that's because I haven't been sleeping and my stress levels have been off the charts. Work has been bananas and I have stayed up way to late. I hope that I can catch up on sleep this weekend and get my hormones back on track. My diet has stayed exactly the same (except for 2 bites of a Twizzler-yuck!), so I'm sure it's sleep/stress.
I have been reading the coolest blog lately. The author writes about how snack/junk/processed foods are designed to make us fat (and never fill us up).
http://www.gnolls.org/2074/why-snack-food-is-addictive-the-grand-unified-theory-of-snack-appeal/
It's interesting, I never considered myself a big eater-but I binged like crazy on junk food. It's like I could never have enough and never felt full. I now know that's by design. My diet isn't perfect. I still drink Crystal Light and my meal planning is imperfect but I really want to get to the place where my diet is:
-Mostly protein (Grass Fed/Wild)
-Organic/CSA grown (low GI/low carb) Fruits & Vegs
-Water (and homemade tea/lemonade-no Crystal Light/No Sweeteners)
-No Dairy
-No processed Foods (Nothing with a label-and NO GRAINS!)
Right now I'd say I'm on the path, but I'm not there:
-Protein: I do eat alot of it, but I buy it from Sam's Club and it's not grass fed. For budget reasons this isn't going to change anytime soon.
-Organic Fruits & Veg: This is a matter of laziness. We do have a CSA in Nola. I just have to get off my arse and go. However, Whole Foods is totally out of the budget
-Water: This is going to come last. For now, cutting out soda & juice is enough
-Dairy: I do eat cheese. I will work on reducing this. I only drank milk with cereal or with sweets, so that's not hard to cut out
-No Processed Foods: Oh baby this is hard! Actually cutting out grains (bread, rice, starchy carbs) was easy because I recognize them. It's the little things like the sugar/carbs hiding in spices or ketsup that trip me up every time.
As you can see I'm a work in process-but I'm getting there. I'll post pics when I hit my first milestone goal.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment