Saturday, August 27, 2011

Don't Eat at La Thai

     Oh goodness, why do I let my mom pick restaurants?   She always picks a place I hate.  We went to La Thai on Prytania.  I scoured the restaurant website and I thought a salad would be safe enough.  We went for lunch and there was no wait.  The place is beautiful, really modern and sexy.  However, the food is the worst.  I ordered the beef salad, dressing on the side.  I took one bite and noticed a hair in my food.  GROSS.  I should have walked out, but my mom really likes the place and wanted to stay.

     They brought me another plate and it was mediocre at best.  I think the beef was coated in something because I have been sick since lunch.  I took a few bites, but for $16 I expect something edible.  The worst thing was that no one apologized for the hair.  They should have apologized or taken $5 bucks off the bill or something.  I didn't want to make a scene because my mama likes the place but never again.  I honestly hate going out to eat with her because I am always disappointed.

     We then went and saw Columbiana.  Zoe Saldana kicks major ass.  I didn't have high expectations going in and I don't want to spoil it but it was awesome. 

    I am in the middle of a plateau right now.  I am hoping that by changing up the things I eat every day I'll see some movement on the scale.  I'll keep you posted.  One positive change I have noticed is that my migraines have disappeared.  Usually, when I'm stressed or don't get enough sleep I get terrible migraines.  I had a hell of a week, but they didn't show up.  This is almost as good as weight loss.




Friday, August 26, 2011

Updates from Blogland

So it's been 12 days and honestly I have never felt better.  The only downside to my newfound primal diet is that I'm spending way to much time on Mark's Daily Apple and other primal/paleo blogs.  This community of people who are taking care of their own health is so inspiring.

Now for the stats...I have lost 9 pounds in 12 days.  My weight loss has stalled the past 3 days, but I know that's because I haven't been sleeping and my stress levels have been off the charts.  Work has been bananas and I have stayed up way to late.  I hope that I can catch up on sleep this weekend and get my hormones back on track.  My diet has stayed exactly the same (except for 2 bites of a Twizzler-yuck!), so I'm sure it's sleep/stress.

I have been reading the coolest blog lately.  The author writes about how snack/junk/processed foods are designed to make us fat (and never fill us up).

http://www.gnolls.org/2074/why-snack-food-is-addictive-the-grand-unified-theory-of-snack-appeal/


It's interesting, I never considered myself a big eater-but I binged like crazy on junk food.  It's like I could never have enough and never felt full.  I now know that's by design.  My diet isn't perfect. I still drink Crystal Light and my meal planning is imperfect but I really want to get to the place where my diet is:
-Mostly protein (Grass Fed/Wild)
-Organic/CSA grown (low GI/low carb) Fruits & Vegs
-Water (and homemade tea/lemonade-no Crystal Light/No Sweeteners)
-No Dairy
-No processed Foods (Nothing with a label-and NO GRAINS!)

Right now I'd say I'm on the path, but I'm not there:
-Protein: I do eat alot of it, but I buy it from Sam's Club and it's not grass fed.  For budget reasons this isn't going to change anytime soon.
-Organic Fruits & Veg: This is a matter of laziness.  We do have a CSA in Nola.  I just have to get off my arse and go.  However, Whole Foods is totally out of the budget
-Water: This is going to come last.  For now, cutting out soda & juice is enough
-Dairy:  I do eat cheese.  I will work on reducing this.  I only drank milk with cereal or with sweets, so that's not hard to cut out
-No Processed Foods:  Oh baby this is hard! Actually cutting out grains (bread, rice, starchy carbs) was easy because I recognize them.  It's the little things like the sugar/carbs hiding in spices or ketsup  that trip me up every time. 

As you can see I'm a work in process-but I'm getting there.  I'll post pics when I hit my first milestone goal.







Saturday, August 20, 2011

I woke up this morning

and I honest to God, I felt transformed.  I was laying in the bed and I could felt my stomach.  It's only been about a week and my stomach is smaller.  I got up and tried on my 'skinny' jeans. They are not really skinny jeans-but they are a pair of jeans I bought about 6 years ago.  I have only been able to wear them a handful of times because I got them when my weight was much lower.  Since I wanted to see if this stomach shrinking was real or an illusion, I tried them on.  Hot Damn! They almost fit.  I could get them on without stretching or straining.  In a few weeks, they will fit me like a glove.  I swear I'm going to wear those bad boys every single day.

My diet is going well.  When I weighed in last Sunday (August 14th) I was at 231.8, today I'm at 223.8.  My mood has been decent (although I almost started crying at work yesterday when I couldn't print the ELA homework-I just wanted to print it and get the hell out of there).  I've been pretty snippy and had a few headaches, but that could also be the result of the weather changing and work being insane right now.

My meal planning is far from perfect-I am not drinking enough water and lunch has been a bag of 200 Cal. Nuts every single day.   The fridge at work is gross and I only have 20 minutes to eat.  I may try canned tuna/salmon/or sardines.  We shall see.  Today,  I am making chicken fajitas with No Beans and No Tortillas.  I will use the seasoning mix, I hope it does not trip me up.  Wish me luck!





Sunday, August 14, 2011

In hiding for the last month

So it's August 14th and I haven't posted in over a month.  It's because I fell of the wagon.  I started a new job and got consumed.  My diet was the very last thing on my mind-evidenced by the amount of crap that I've eaten over the past few weeks. 

I have always struggled with a wicked sweet tooth and I am slightly obsessed with dessert. However, an interesting development has taken place over the past few days and I'm hopeful that it will  totally change my relationship with food.

Oddly enough, I have developed IBS.  I don't know why but whenever I eat something sweet I develop stomach cramps, diarreah, and the urge to vomit.  I have no idea why this has happened.  I honestly thought I ate a bad brownie.  So, I stayed away from the brownies.  Last night, I ate a piece of cheesecake and it happened again.  It's not happening with savory foods so I'm convinced that I'm developing some sort of intolerance for sugar.  I'm sad-but I also think of this as a blessing.  I can't control by diet through willpower alone.  This is my body saying Enough of the Crap.

I should be writing lesson plans right now, but instead I have been on Mark's Daily Apple and a slew of low-carb blogs.

I am still eating fruit because I think it tastes good and it's good for you.  I am going to try to cut down on dairy.  I am totally eliminating soda and sweets from my diet.  I am also going to try to eliminate grains and processed foods.   I weighed in this morning  and was at 231.8.  I want to be at 220 (ideally 215) by the end of the month.  I will keep you posted.  Wish me luck!






Saturday, June 4, 2011

I fell off the wagon

but I'm getting back on.  I haven't posted because this is a blog about my diet and frankly the diet flew out the window.  When I was eating paleo, I had a ton of energy and felt great.  Eating my SAD (Standard American Diet) I felt awful.  I'm been sleepy, lethargic, grumpy, and have had a ton of migraines.  Tomm. I'll be back on my paleo plan for good this time.

It's weird all of the things I craved were kind of a let-down.  I ate pancakes for breakfast and they tasted like cardboard.  I ate lots of cake-but it was usually dry and not satisfying.  I want food that provides fuel for my body and makes me feel good.  I can't wait to get back on track.

Monday, May 16, 2011

The day I did everything wrong

Today started off bad when I weighed in at 222.6  No more black beans for me!  I skipped breakfast and didn't bring my lunch because I was craving sushi.  They make sushi at my local grocery store.  I asked for it wrapped in Nori instead of rice.  They said they couldn't do it.  I said "I don't mind paying extra'.  No dice and the salad bar didn't have one thing that fit my plan.

I checked the frozen food aisle, but they didn't have any S. Beach Frozen Meals. I only get 25 minutes for lunch so I headed back to school with bupkus.  At about 3:00 the hunger got to me and I ate a banana (leftover snack for the kiddos).  Didn't fill me up at all.  At 4:45 I passed out pm snack, it was trail mix with peanuts, raisins, and white choc. chips.  I ate a bag. I couldn't help it.

I did learn my lesson----BRING MY LUNCH NEXT TIME!  I am dreading weighing in tomm.

Evening Update-In hindsight, it's not the end of the world.  I passed on the pizza and other temptations at the store.  For dinner I had 3 pieces of center cut bacon and an omelet.  I made some tuna salad and will do better tommorrow.

Sunday, May 15, 2011

It's a new day for me

and I'm feeling good.  Jennifer Hudson is not the only one singing that song.  After a tough day yesterday, I feel like I'm back in the game.  Today I made a delicious salad of chicken fajitas and guacamole.  I added a little bit of black beans.  A little while ago (on Mark's Daily Apple), I learned that beans are a carb.  For years, I thought they were proteins.  I thought that was why vegetarians ate them.  So, hopefully tomm. the scale will be moving in the right direction.  No matter what, I feel full of energy.  Since starting this diet my energy has skyrocketed, my sleep has improved, and my attitude is better. I feel made of win.

Saturday, May 14, 2011

Overconfidence bites me in the behind

I ate something bad today, but I can't figure out what it was.  I know I had something bad, because it's 8pm and I am starving.  For the past few days, I've been very satisfied with my small meals but for some reason I am having wicked cravings right now.

I hope that by documenting this I can figure it all out:

Breakfast:  2 eggs (with cheese and veggies) and 2 strips of center cut bacon.  No problems there, I was full until lunch.

Lunch:  A handful of shrimp and stir-fry veggies.  I found leftover shrimp in the fridge (they were cooked in butter).  I coated the pan with Pam and used 5 spice powder and a bit of soy sauce.

After lunch I was still hungry.  I thought it was because I didn't have enough protein at lunch (the shrimp were tiny). 

3 PM Snack: 1 stick of celery and a small scoop of hummus

That held me for a bit, but by 5 pm I was still hungry.  I went straight for the meat.

Dinner: Some Ribs with BBQ Sauce.  It was sauce from Central Market (HEB is the bomb.com) and I could taste the sugar in it. 

I had protein so why am I starving and daydreaming about the goldfish crackers in the pantry when every other day has been pretty easy?

Just checked-the sauce had 7 grams of carbs.  Was that it?  Was it the soy sauce?  No more stir-fry until I figure this out.  Tomm. I am having the bacon/eggs again and making chicken fajitas. Wish me luck.

It's the freaking weekend baby and I'm have me some fun

I weighed in this morning at 222.  I was 233 6 days ago.  I know it's water weight blah blah blah.  It just feels good to have the scale moving in the right direction for once.

Friday, May 13, 2011

Happy Friday

Or I have gotten through my first week!  This week was challenging to say the least.  The first few days, I truly felt like I was detoxing from some bad s***.  I was like a zombie at work and was grumpy and rude to everyone around me (sounds pleasant, huh).  Luckily about two days ago I turned a corner.  I feel full of energy and am loving life.  The nutrition is going well.  I'm doing South Beach Phase 1/Primal Diet/Low Carb.  I have a problem with sugar and starchy carbs.  I can't eat them in moderation, so cutting them out works for me.  I have already lost weight and see a difference in my clothes.

I haven't worked out yet. It'll come....Right now, getting the diet right is the priority.  I had a hardboiled egg for breakfast, a salad and grilled salmon for lunch, and I'm going to eat some pork chops for dinner.  We had cake (2 Kinds) and Chocolate in the break room at work and I passed on both.  The kids offered me their crackers at lunch (because I usually am starving and scarf them down).  I'm telling everyone I have Celiac's.  It's just easier than trying to defend my diet choices.

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Today was a good day

After feeling like a zombie the past few days, I think I've turned a corner.  I've slept like a baby (sans sleeping pill) for the first time in ages.  I was also starving this morning.  I ate some roast chicken at 11:00 and feel great.  I'm full of energy and raring to go.  Now if I can just work out!

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Day 2 Update or This is hard

Today was not the business.  I drank the Naked Green Machine, but I was starving by lunch. I thought that stuff was the best, but it's 4 carb servings.  What the What?

Luckily, they were serving Chicken Fajitas in the cafeteria (something decent for once).   So I was able to make my own version of a chicken taco salad:
Grilled Chicken
Lots of Lettuce
Cheese
Salsa
Refried Beans

I skipped the tortillas, the Spanish Rice, and the Corn Salsa (That I normally down by the truckload).  I won't be appearing on Top Chef anytime soon, but it did the job.  When I got home I jumped into bed.  I have a wicked migraine and hope that tomm. will be better. I feel like I'm moving at half speed (My principal asked me if I was alright).  I know that if I can get through the week I will feel amazing!  Just a few more days, then it's back to normal.  I'll keep you posted and take some pics (eventually).

Now off to watch the Biggest Loser and the Voice.

Monday, May 9, 2011

Day 1 Detox

So I have been eating nothing but Junk for the past few months.  Too many donuts, cheeseburgers, and mega-helpings of dessert.  My body needs a rest.  I decided to do a detox.  I have done them in the past, when I drank too much or over-indulged and I find they help reboot my system. 

I am drinking Naked's Green Machine and eating low-carb for dinner.  In the past, I only had the drink for all of my meals but I need the protein.  I couldn't find the Naked this morning, so I bought the Bolthouse brand.  It was okay, but not as good as the Naked.  I had a few bites of roast chicken and some spaghetti squash and meat sauce.  I also had Crystal Light (Which I will never give up).

I have been reading up on the benefits of a low-carb diet for quite a while and think that's what I need to try.  I have wicked sugar and carb cravings (bread and sweets are what I dream about) so I think this is the ideal plan to help me kick the cravings.  For the next few days, I'll be having a bottle of Green Machine (16 oz, 300 cal total) during the day and eating a low-carb dinner. 

I am also spending a ton of time on Mark's Daily Apple.  They seem to have this figured out.  I have a major history of heart disease in my family (and my sweet mama just got diagnosed with 'the sugar') so I need to do something fast.  Hopefully, I'll have some great results to report by Friday.

I didn't work out today, but did move around alot.  I took my students to the park and it was a doozy of a walk.  Hopefully tomm. I'll either check out Curves or do a Liveexercise.com video.

Sunday, May 8, 2011

Time for a Detox or What the hell is wrong with me

I have been overweight my entire life. I have used my weight as an excuse for a lot of things (I can't go overseas-I'm too fat; I can't date-I'm too fat; I can't move to California-I'm too fat). About two years ago I was laid off from a job I hated and I decided to use the time to do my own version of the Biggest Loser. I lost about 50 pounds and was in the best shape of my life. I discovered Zumba and Spinning and while I wasn't skinny-I wasn't shopping in fat girl stores anymore.

Cut to my birthday last week. I have regained 30 pounds. What the hell is wrong with me? I knew that my 'skinny' jeans didn't fit, but I didn't know I was moving so far in the wrong direction. I need to fix this ASAP.

Tomm. I'm going on a juice fast for a few days. I'm be swilling Naked Green Machine (it really is yummy) and visiting Curves. I don't want to rejoin my old gym. Frankly, I'm too embarrassed to set foot in that place. Everyone in that gym was hardcore and I can't take the pitying looks. I'm also going to try to purchase a Zumba class pass and get a physical (something I have been putting off forever).

I'm hoping that by keeping this blog, I'll be able to hold myself accountable, get to my goal weight, and stop all of the excuses.